updated 9:43 AM UTC, Dec 29, 2017

General Information

Full Name:

Russian Federation
Populations: 142.5 million (UN, 2007)
Area: 17,075,400 sq.km
Goverment Type: Constitutional Republic
Capital: Moscow
Administrative Divisions: 21 republics, 6 territories, 49 regions, 2 federal cities, 1 autonomous region and 10 autonomous areas
Executive Branch:

Chief of State - President: Mr. Vladimir PUTIN
Head of Government: Mr. Dmitry MEDVEDEV
Minister of Foreign Affairs: Mr. Sergey LAVROV

Legaislative Branch

Bicameral Federal Assembly which consists of
- the upper chamber, Council of Federation (Sovet Federatsii)
- the lower chamber, State Duma (Gosudarstvennaya Duma)

Judicial Branch:

Constitutional Court; Supreme Court; Supeme Arbitration Court;
Judges for all courts are appointed for life by the Council of Federation on the recommendation of the President

Major Language: Russian
National Day: 12 June
Monetary Unit: 1 rouble = 100 kopecks